What to expect at Apple's April 2021 event

News Source: 

Apple is expected to announce new products at the Spring Loaded event on 20 April 2021. Here's what to expect, from iPads to Apple TV.

Apple has announced details of its first event of 2021. The company will host the "Spring Loaded" event on 20 April at 6pm BST, 10am PDT.

We will discuss everything you need to know about the Apple spring event below, including when it will start in your region, what Apple will launch, and how you can watch it.

When is the Apple spring event?
Apple's virtual personal assistant, Siri, spoiled the surprise! On 12 and 13 April Siri started telling people that the next Apple Event would happen on 20 April and sure enough, later on the 13 April, Apple made the announcement that the Spring Loaded event is scheduled for Tuesday 20 April.

What time does the Apple event start?

Apple event start time: 20 April 2021, at 10am California time/6pm UK time.

Here's what that translates to in the countries where most of our readers live:

  • UK: 20 April at 6pm (BST)
  • Europe: 20 April at 7pm (CEST)
  • US: 20 April at 10am (PDT), 11am (MDT), noon (CDT), 1pm (EDT)
  • Canada: 20 April at 10am (PDT), 11am (MDT), noon (CDT), 1pm (EDT), 2pm (ADT)
  • India: 20 April at 10.30pm (IST)
  • Australia: 21 April at 1am (AWST), 2.30am (ACST), 3am (AEST)
  • The event will probably last about one to two hours.


What will Apple announce at the 20 April event

Past spring events have seen Apple reveal new iPads and various software and services-based products.

In 2020 we saw the arrival of the second-generation iPhone SE, although it's worth noting that this was via a press release rather than a dedicated event (due to the pandemic).

Back in 2019 Apple hosted an event on 25 March, where it showcased Apple Arcade, Apple TV+, and Apple News+ services.

The previous year brought an update to the entry-level 9.7in iPad, which itself had been introduced two years previously in another March event that also saw the arrival of the original iPhone SE.

With all this in mind, here's what we think might appear if Apple hosts an event in spring 2021.

iPad Pro 2021
The spring event could see the arrival of a new iPad Pro, according to industry analyst Ming-Chi Kuo and sources in the supply chain. All of the rumours seem to suggest Apple updating its premium tablet range in the first quarter of 2021.t.

Apple VR headset release date, price & specs rumours
Is Apple working on a VR headset? We assess all the latest rumours,…

Apple TV
It's been over three years since Apple last updated its set-top box, and that seems far too long when you consider that the company launched its new Apple TV+ subscription service in March 2019.

There were plenty of stories circulating that Apple would refresh its streaming device in 2020, but nothing appeared. With that in mind, we think there's a good chance that we may see a new Apple TV device arrive in spring 2021.

A new Bloomberg report in April discusses Apple's plans to apparently launch a new Apple TV which integrates a HomePod and a robotic arm!

AirTag

There are also suggestions that Apple will launch its heavily rumoured AirTags tracker.

Perhaps the biggest indication that this is indeed coming is the fact that Apple recently updated the Find My app to include the ability to find tagged items, and a partnership with a number of manufacturers who will integrate with the service. There are also new features that could relate to the AirTag in iOS 14.5.

However, the new Find My Items feature could actually mean that Apple doesn't need to launch an AirTag as one of the first partners is a tagging device. The Chipolo One Spot Item Finder. Read more here: Apple's Find My app will soon find other third-party products.

AirPods
Prosser was wrong about the AirPods Max launching in March, but he may not have been wrong about Apple launching new AirPods this spring. There are various new AirPods rumoured including the AirPods 3, which are said to be based on the AirPods Pro design, and also AirPods Pro Lite earbuds (which may actually be the same thing).

Products less likely to launch
Those are the products most likely to launch, but there are some other new products that we could see at the event.

iPad mini
Rumours have suggested we might see an update to the diminutive mini as well. However, there is also an indication that the iPad mini might have been delayed until the autumn.

The big rumour is that the iPad mini 6 could get a bigger screen, leaving behind the 7.9in design that's been the same since it was first introduced nearly a decade ago.

Sceptics will point to the fact that Apple usually announces iPad mini updates in autumn, but since the company left four years between the iPad mini 4 and iPad mini 5 (the latter of which was launched in March 2019), we think it safe to assume that the former pattern isn't set in stone.

10.5in iPad

Rounding off the iPad range is the entry-level model that has traditionally been unveiled at the spring events. Many think that Apple could be about to move the current 10.2in iPad into the frame of the recently discontinued iPad Air 3, which would mean and increase in screen-size to 10.5in.

For more details on what could be in store for the cheapest tablet in Apple's catalogue, read our roundup of the news and rumours around the 10.5in iPad 2021.

New iMac design
There have been argument building for a while about why the iMac needs a new design. Well, it looks like 2021 might be the year when Apple finally addresses the ageing chassis of its all-in-one desktop Mac.

The main aesthetic updates are thought to see the reduction of the large bezels that surround the display, the latter of which will increase from 21.5in to 23in or 24in.

Of course, the headline feature is sure to be the switch to the Apple M1 processor which arrived on the MacBook Air, MacBook Pro and Mac mini in 2020. We may even see a superior M1X processor.

With Apple keen to move all its Macs on to the new platform, it seems possible that this could see it appear in spring rather than the more traditional autumn time slot.

For a deeper dive into all you can look forward to when Apple updates the device, read our new iMac 2021 news hub.

14in MacBook Pro
Apple is said to have plans for 13in MacBook Pro that wasn't given an M1 chip in November 2020. This model could get a completely new design and a bigger screen.

 

Author: Martyn Casserly, Contributor

Disclaimers of Warranties
1. The website does not warrant the following:
1.1 The services from the website meets your requirement;
1.2 The accuracy, completeness, or timeliness of the service;
1.3 The accuracy, reliability of conclusions drawn from using the service;
1.4 The accuracy, completeness, or timeliness, or security of any information that you download from the website
2. The services provided by the website is intended for your reference only. The website shall be not be responsible for investment decisions, damages, or other losses resulting from use of the website or the information contained therein<
Proprietary Rights
You may not reproduce, modify, create derivative works from, display, perform, publish, distribute, disseminate, broadcast or circulate to any third party, any materials contained on the services without the express prior written consent of the website or its legal owner.

The LM301B EVO enables luminaires to meet latest DLC V5.1 Premium and EU’s ErP Ecodesign requirements to accommodate evolving needs of the lighting industry (Photo: Samsung Electronics) Samsung Electronics, a world leader in advance... READ MORE

San Jose, CA – May 04, 2021 – Lumileds today introduced two new colors – PC Amber and Lime – for its very small and very powerful LUXEON Rubix LED portfolio. The 1.4 square millimeter footprint is almost pixel like and ... READ MORE